What We Do

Lyons is an architectural and urban design practice based in Melbourne, Australia. The firm designs projects which are responsive to and expressive of a contemporary experience of local and global culture - a world of ideas, new media, technologies and rapidly changing urbanism. Lyons work is committed to and interested in the history and culture of ideas and how ideas can be used to create meaningful contemporary architecture.

As a practice Lyons collaborates with its clients and project stakeholders in order to make each project unique and uses specialist methodologies to understand the underlying vision that each client has for their project.

With over 80 creative staff, Lyons is one of Australia's largest design practices and has the expertise and proven capability to deliver complex large projects.

Lyons offers specialist design expertise in the following areas:

Lyons' design reputation is evidenced through numerous awards for its work, including the Victorian Architecture Medal, numerous national and international sustainability awards, representation at the Australian National Pavilion at the Venice Architecture Biennale and other national awards for architectural design.

The practice's projects have been published nationally and internationally in publications which include the A-Z of Modern Architecture, Phaidon World Atlas of Contemporary Architecture, Architecture Australia, Architectural Review , Australian Architecture Now and Taschen's Modern Architecture A-Z.

Lyons creative team is committed to extending the local and international architectural discourse through ongoing design research, studio teaching, writing and lecturing about architecture and design.

Lyons was established in 1996, and is led by Directors Corbett Lyon, Carey Lyon, Neil Appleton, Adrian Stanic and James Wilson; Principals Peter Bartlett, Diana Jones, Edward Berry, Paul Dash, Hari Pliambas, Adam Pustola, Jenine Birney, Rob Tursi, Ross Heywood and Sam Hunter; and Associates Kate Woodman, Will Brouwers, Kylie Brown, Barnaby Hartford-Davis, Fiona Lew, Elliot Wong, Lee Deveridge, Alex McCabe and Brendan Grayson.